Layered Neutrals

It’s Day #2 of Refinery29 2012 Color Trend Week here on the Wear Everything Project and today is all about Layered Neutrals. You’re probably asking yourself right now, “Aren’t layered neutrals just as boring as a single neutral?” And part of you is right– but as Refinery29 notes in their slideshow, by layering pieces, you start to get a multi-dimensional effect that is pretty cool! In fact, I think I dig it over the black, on black, on gray that I’ve been rocking lately.

For today’s outfit, I started with a sweater shell that wasn’t going to see the light of day unless I wore the one skirt that I had specifically bought it to go with. You know how it goes: you find the perfect combo of items and suddenly the two pieces are married– there’s no chance you’d want one to cheat on the other with another item in your closet. Yet, as one of the “oatmeal” items that I own, I figured that I would start with that as my base and try to think outside the box by building around it. After studying the pictures from Refinery29, I added in some gray jeans and a gray and beige flecked sweater that I think pulls it all together. Ta Da! Layered Neutrals– just don’t tell the skirt!

Today’s Lesson: Just because you have a piece of clothing that you bought to go specifically with another item in your closet doesn’t mean you have to only wear them together! Get creative and start thinking of other ways to incorporate that item into your outfit repertoire.

Refinery29: Layered Neutrals

January 10: Oatmeal Merino Sweater Shell (Ann Taylor), Gray Wash Trouser Jeans (The Limited), Shawl Neck Duster Cardigan (New York & Co.)

Leave a comment

Filed under 2012 Color Trends

Leave a comment